Reviews

What people are saying about Avalon Lodge Bed and Breakfast




Why not 6 stars? - Rating 5/5

I have been racking my brain for days now, and I cannot think of any comfort Avalon Lodge does not offer.We stayed in the large Harmony room, and it was lovely for my mother to have a very spacious, luxurious bed and for me to have my bed in its own, separated room for some appreciated privacy. The windows were large and had a nice view of the sunrises, pretty front garden, and fields beyond the roadway.Rooms have mini fridges that are stocked with snacks and a few complementaries. Paid for items are paid via an honesty box in the room and additional snacks and drinks are kept in the hallway. It is also handy to have the fridge to keep any items you may bring home cold.Spa quality robes and the largest towels I have seen outside of the states are found in the bathrooms. Ours was en-suite, as I believe every room is.There is a common area with a few couches and plenty of reading material, games, puzzles, and even DVDs. This is wonderful to have some time away from your room. Cutlery is always available to use for meals you may bring back with you to finish in their dining area.Be sure to visit their chickens and feed the donkeys. You’ll see where they get their eggs and tomatoes if you visit their back garden.Nick and Jenny are gracious and accommodating hosts, even offering us services they did not outrightly provide for a very reasonable extra charge, which made our trip comfortable and much more convenient. They also mailed me back an item I left behind.I would recommend this BnB above all others we’ve stayed at. Please do yourself a favor and check them out!

Response

How lovely, you made us laugh.Thank you so much for taking the time on returning to the States to write such a glowing and detailed review. We couldn't have done better!The most important issue for us was that you both had a lovely time in the area and a comfortable stay.Whilst the tomatoes are coming to an end the donkeys demand for carrots are certainly not! They and the hens and ducks are certainly a constant source of entertainment for guests.We are rather envious of your good weather as Autumn settles in here but with it the colours of the trees are changing and providing a beautiful backdrop.Wishing you both well,Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:s | Sun 6th Oct 2019 | 2 weeks ago


fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

Avalon lodge bed and breakfast was an Incredible place to stay for visiting the local heritage sights. The hosts were fantastic and lovely to talk to, we had amazing breakfasts every morning with a lovely garden and surrounds to explore. Very Nice rooms with fridge in room and microwave in the nearby passage. Spacious and warm bathrooms.

Response

Dear David,Thank you so much for the super review and for choosing to stay with us.As you discovered there are literally 100s of places to discover and explore within easy distance of the B&B making Avalon Lodge a great base for the area.So glad you enjoyed your stay here, particularly the breakfasts and hope your review will encourage others to come and explore Wiltshire and the Great West Way.Our warmest wishes,Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:D | Thu 26th Sep 2019 | 4 weeks ago


Very pleasant stay at Avalon - Rating 5/5

he room was comfortable and had all the facilities we wanted.It was nice to have a very spacious shower.The breakfasts were good with plenty of options.Our hosts, Nick and Jenny, were genial and helpful.

Response

Hello Arthur,We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and all the facilities.Our number one aim is to help guests make the most of their time away so we like to help in whatever way we can, whether it's suggestions on places to visit, the best places to eat or even where to escape the rain! :-)Meanwhile, thank you for leaving us such a positive review.Regards,Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:Arthur W | Tue 24th Sep 2019 | 1 month ago


Beautiful stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 3 days at Avalon in Devizes & couldn't have asked for anything better.A beautiful room with magnificent views, wonderful hosts Nick & Jenny, hearty breakfasts & lots of ancient sites close by.

Response

Thank you Brian, it's always good when we have guest's "discover" the delights of Wiltshire. Lots of people know about Stonehenge but little else so to find so many attractions around the area takes them by surprise and often means they come back to explore further.We are glad that you both enjoyed the area and your stay with us at Avalon Lodge. It was a pleasure to meet you both and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Reviewer:Brian T | Mon 23rd Sep 2019 | 1 month ago


Excellent stay highly recommended - Rating 5/5

Service friendly, very professional, room comfortable, really good nights sleep in the comfortable bed, also fluffy towels and robes. Extensive breakfast menu with nothing too much trouble. Well looked after by Jenny and Nick.

Response

Hello Wendy and thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your positive comments.We strive to provide the best possible holiday for guests and try and make the rooms as comfortable as possible with all those little things (as well as the big ones!) that come in handy and of course, a comfortable bed and cosy dressing gowns and fluffy bath sheets are important.Likewise, we look to provide a breakfast that will satisfy most tastes as well as diets and allergies not to mention appetites :-)It would be great to see you again if you come back this way.

Reviewer:5 | Wed 18th Sep 2019 | 1 month ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

Many thanks to Nick and Jenny for making us very welcome.Everything is catered for, to enhance your stay.The room was very comfortable and clean and tidy.The breakfast choices were great and the breakfast was cooked perfectly using their own free range eggs.Many thanks

Response

Many thanks, Andy, it was great to meet you both and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay.The hens and ducks will be particularly grateful for your comments which should encourage them to continue laying their extra-large, delicious eggs - just a pity we can't get the donkeys to do something useful as well!We look forward to seeing you again,Warmest regards,Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:Andy S | Tue 10th Sep 2019 | 1 month ago


Luxurious B&B - Rating 5/5

Nick and Jenny gave us a genuinely warm welcome to their wonderfully comfortable home.Crisp white bed linen, thick soft bathrobes and fun board games, everything that we mightneed had been thought of.Breakfast was delicious and in the garden we found a duck egg (our hosts care for rescuedanimals) which Nick and Jenny persuaded us to take home with us!Would highly recommend a stay with this lovely couple.

Response

Hi, it was a pleasure to meet you and we are grateful for taking the time to leave a review and your lovely comments.Our aim is to make a stay as pleasurable as possible not only the "bed and breakfasr" elements but the room, decor, all the little extras as well as the information on all the many places to visit, not to mention eat!It would be great to see you at some point in the future.

Reviewer:a | Sun 8th Sep 2019 | 1 month ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Jenny and Nick are wonderful hosts, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious and the breakfasts were amazing. Would recommend Avalon Lodge without hesitation. In my sons words "perfect pancakes, perfect stay".

Response

Thank you, Liz,It was an absolute delight to meet you and all the family.It was great that you could have the whole house to yourselves. We often have groups of friends or families and they find it ideal for getting together and relaxing and using the house as a base to explore the local area.So glad that the breakfasts went down well, particularly the pancakes, which have been a great hit this year along with the advocado.Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, much appreciated,Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:E | Sun 1st Sep 2019 | 1 month ago


Great Getaway - Rating 5/5

Jenny and Nick were great hosts. Thank you so much for making my stay the most enjoyable and comfortable! I would love to visit again.All my friends WOW when I showed them the pictures of my room. Yummy breakfast too. :)

Response

Dear Nani,It was great to meet you and see your drawings. Over the years we have had many people stay with us who attend Ann Swan's leading botanical art classes and it is obvious that you are very talented!We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the breakfasts.Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review and we hope to see you again in the future.Warmest regards,Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:N | Thu 22nd Aug 2019 | 2 months ago


Summer Relaxing - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay in warm and welcoming bed and breakfast. Room was comfortable with balcony and en-suite. Breakfast was delicious and plenty of choices. Hosted were friendly and happy to provide local knowledge to aid planning outings

Response

An absolute pleasure to have you as our guests.It was lovely to meet you and we are glad that you enjoyed both your room and the breakfasts we provide.Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback which we do appreciate.

Reviewer:M | Tue 20th Aug 2019 | 2 months ago


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

Nick & Jenny can’t do enough for you. The breakfast is fantastic and the room well equipped.They will advise you where to eat in the evening and Nick has excellent local knowledge and will direct you all the local places of interest.We will be back.

Response

Thank you, Clive.It was good to welcome you both back again and it's an absolute pleasure to have you as guests.For such a market town like Devizes, we are blessed with so many good places to eat, not only in town but in the surrounding countryside. And it's good to know the breakfasts live up to expectations :-)Hopefully, we will see you again in the not too distant future and meanwhile thank you again for taking the time to leave valued feedback, which is appreciated.Regards,Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:C | Sun 18th Aug 2019 | 2 months ago


Amazing little gem - Rating 5/5

This is the first time I’ve ever taken the time to write a review but our experience at the Avalon Lodge was so superior I just have to share the news. In fact I had preferred to stay somewhere in the village of Devizes but my partner liked the idea of a little farmstead and in the end it really made our 3-night stay special. We stayed in the Harmony room, which in fact included 2 bedrooms and was incredibly spacious, with a huge bathroom with bright windows on 2 sides. Normally such a large space would have cost much more but in the end it was no more expensive than what an ordinary room would have cost in Devizes. I especially loved the luxury of the finest sheets, towels and bed linens, the dressing gowns and furnishings, all of impeccable taste. As an animal lover, I was drawn to the owners who have rescued most of their farm animals from sanctuaries. The breakfast included fruits, tomatoes and eggs from their own farm, which was a special treat. They welcomed us on arrival with tea and cookies and offered great advice on local places of Interest. In short, I really felt they were there to serve us and make our stay as pleasant as possible. I can’t recommend them too highly!

Response

Hi, thank you for such a lovely review and particularly as you don't normally write one, that is really appreciated.We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the animals, they do tend to put a smile on people's faces if not eggs on their breakfast plates!Our Harmony room is a particular favourite with families who have an older child as they are able to have their own room with TV, it tends to suit both parties :-) But it is also great for those who just like more room.Whilst there are a number of good places to stay in Devizes we are just right for those who don't want to be in a noisy town but do want to be close to all the amenities so are glad that worked out well for you.Thanks again,Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:E | Mon 12th Aug 2019 | 2 months ago


Quick Break - Rating 5/5

Stayed at Avalon Lodge after seeing excellent reviews on line. The room was perfectly good, very clean with a balcony over looking the garden. The complimentary refreshment tray was the best that I've experienced and the fridge with fresh milk made a nice change from uht pots. The fridge was also stocked with beer, wine and other treats for purchase which was a nice touch for a B&B.The owners were very welcoming and helpful and had plenty of information about the local area. There were plenty of breakfast options and the hens and donkeys in the garden added interest and an impromptu morning alarm. Would definitely recommend.

Response

Many thanks, Colin, we are glad that the real experience lived up to the reviews!Hopefully we are progressing along the right lines as for the sixth year we have been awarded Trip Advisor's Certificate of Excellence and entry into their Hall of Fame and for the second year in a row we have made the shortlist for an Eviivo award and have just been informed that we have been awarded the Lux Life Magazine Hidden Gem of the Year Award 2019 for Wiltshire and Best Countryside B&B 2019.It would be great to welcome you back for a long stay in the future.

Reviewer:Colin E | Mon 5th Aug 2019 | 2 months ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay, nice room, comfy bed and wonderful breakfeast. Easy to find.Helpful hosts and a warm welcome, easy parking at the front of the house.Lovely area to saty in only a few miles up to Avebury.

Response

Hi, it is really good of you to take the time to leave such a positive review and is much appreciated.As you found we are not only close to Avebury Stone Circle, Silbury Hill and Kennet Long Barrow and National Trust Manor House but also to lots of other attractions including Lacock Abbey, Fox Talbot photography museum and the quintessential English village used by so many TV and film productions, as well as places like Bowood, a grade I listed Georgian country house with interiors by Robert Adam and a garden designed by Lancelot "Capability" Brown, walking distance of Cain Hill Locks and a short drive to Stonehenge and Salisbury as well as Bath. Just some of the many places that draw guests back time and again.

Reviewer:a | Sat 3rd Aug 2019 | 2 months ago


Best of best - Rating 5/5

We have extensively travelled around England, Scotland and Wales and this b&b is one of the best we have stayed in. The room was spacious and the bed was brilliant. Lovely rural location and ideal for exploring Wiltshire. Jenny and Nick were very warm and friendly. Breakfast was excellent with a wide selection of food. We would definitely consider this b&b when in this area again.

Response

Many thanks, Peter for taking the time to leave a review and for your very positive comments.It is great that you found the B&B so good as we do strive to make it as comfortable, inviting and pleasant for guests as possible. Of course, we are very lucky that we are in an ideal location for not only exploring the attractions of Wiltshire but also just down the road Bath and Bristol. Whilst many guests have not heard of Devizes before their visit they enjoy the local market town with it's 500 listed buildings, the award-winning museum and the Kennet and Avon canal and the magnificent Cain Hill Locks.Well worth a second visit!Regards,J&N

Reviewer:Peter G | Mon 29th Jul 2019 | 2 months ago


Great B&B - Rating 5/5

About a mile outside Devizes in lovely countryside. Our room was very well appointed and very comfortable. The rooms at the back have large balconies looking over the owners substantial garden with ducks and a couple of donkeys to the rolling countryside beyond. Breakfasts were great and the owners very friendly and more than happy to advise on where to go and hand out information. The Kennet and Avon locks are 15 minutes walk away ( uphill ) featuring an excellent canal side pub. Devizes is also walkable but parking is plentiful and cheap.Devizes is a really nice market town with an historic centre, attractive canalside walks and choice of old inns.There is plenty of choice of other places to visit. A really top B&B in a very nice area.

Response

Dear David,Thank you for choosing to stay with us, it was lovely to meet you.Your review is really appreciated and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. It is reassuring that you enjoyed the B&B, room, breakfast and facilities and that you made the most of the area and all the local attractions.It would be great to see you again in the future.Very best wishes,Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:David S | Sun 28th Jul 2019 | 2 months ago


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

I think the sign on the dining room wall says it all 'You arrive as Guests and leave as Friends', How true, we spent a delightful few days at Avalon Lodge. Our room 'Haven' was excellent, spotless throughout our stay and the bathroom just as large as the bedroom. It was nice to sit on our balcony and watch the donkeys, chickens and ducks wandering around the garden to which we had access to. Our hosts Nick and Jenny were full of local knowledge, where to eat, where to avoid etc and the best way to reach places. Breakfast super we left our plates clean each morning with a feeling of wellbeing fortified for the day ahead.Finally true Haven is Avalon Lodge.

Response

You are too kind, John!Thanks though for taking the time to leave a review and for your lovely comments. As you will have seen from the visitors' book so many guests do return that they indeed become friends.Whilst we try and ensure everything is of top quality with great rooms and good food, it is probably the balconies and animals that are the icing on the cake. Particularly over the summer months guests just love to sit out, watching the animals and the sun go down and it does make it an idyllic place to live.We are very lucky,Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:John C | Thu 25th Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


Top of the league bed and breakfast - Rating 5/5

What can I say the very best bed and breakfast I have ever stayed at rooms were outstanding stayed in the haven bedroom very large room and amazing balcony overlooking there back garden Jenny and nick made you feel very welcome nothing was too much trouble for them they even gave us a card and gift to us because we were celebrating our anniversary which we thought was a lovely touch

Response

Dear Ray, It was great that you were here for your anniversary and we were delighted that you enjoyed your stay.Haven is a lovely room, with the new bathroom and balcony overlooking the garden and animals. Many guests who have stayed in it request it when they return. It would be great to see you both again, anniversary or not :-)Thanks for the review,Nick & Jenny

Reviewer:Raymond V | Sun 21st Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


Best Guesthouse Ever! - Rating 5/5

What a great place to stay in Wiltshire! Jenny and Nick are lovely people and excellent hosts. Breakfasts, rooms, beds, bathrooms are all marvellous and the attention to detail in all aspects raises Avalon Lodge to a level above other places we have stayed for B&B. Also we enjoyed meeting the hens, ducks and donkeys. We really appreciated the gifts and cards for my birthday/our wedding anniversary. We would definitely return for another visit. Highly recommended.

Response

It was fabulous that you chose here to celebrate two very important events!Thank you for staying with us and for your lovely comments, they are appreciated and do help others when deciding where to stay. Not sure we are the best guest house ever but it is reassuring to know that our guest do enjoy their time here and often return.We look forward to seeing you again,Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:C | Sun 14th Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


An excellent B&B ..... comfortable and welcoming - Rating 5/5

Nothing is too much trouble staying with Nick and Jenny at Avalon Lodge. I have stayed there many times now and I am always assured of a warm welcome with a well appointed comfortable room with excellent facilities and mouth watering breakfasts...cannot recommend it highly enough.

Response

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your positive comments.It is great when guests return and we enjoy having you stay with us.We look forward to seeing you again and, hopefully, continuing to provide you with delicious breakfasts :-)

Reviewer:S | Sat 29th Jun 2019 | 3 months ago


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

Avalon lodge is an excellent Bed & Breakfast. The bed is very comfortable and the breakfast is freshly cooked and extremely good. Stayed three nights to attend a local wedding and the location was superb.Nick and Jenny are very friendly hosts who ensure your stay is relaxed and enjoyable.Would certainly stay again if down in Wiltshire

Response

Thank you Norman, it was lovely to meet you and your wife and we were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and meeting up with old friends.We have tried to guarantee that all the beds at Avalon Lodge are of a quality that will ensure a good night's sleep and have tested them all ourselves! Glad you found yours comfortable.It would be great to see you again if you come back to visit.Regards,Nick & Jenny

Reviewer:Norman H | Tue 4th Jun 2019 | 4 months ago


Home away from home - Rating 5/5

Wonderful hosts, so attentive and lovely. The room was big and very well kitted out. Fridge with cold drinks, shower gels, shampoo etc. Room was clean, beds very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious. Thank you Jenny and Nick. And thanks for the supply of carrots for Alan and Hazel (donkeys). Our city slicker daughter was in her element.

Response

Nikki, it was lovely to meet your family and especially your cute daughter. The donkey's miss her bringing their treat of carrots but it was great that she was happy to meet them, not to mention the chickens and ducks!We appreciate you taking the time out to leave a review and are glad you enjoyed your stay at Avalon Lodge. We do try and provide as much as we can think would be useful but are always open to suggestions.Any time you want a break from the city Alan and Hazel would be delighted! :-)Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:Nikki H | Sun 2nd Jun 2019 | 4 months ago


Two Sisters and a Daughter/Niece!! - Rating 5/5

Fabulous! Breakfast was amazing! We read the reviews and they really are true. Believe ours! Nick and Jenny were incredibly friendly and made us feel so welcome. Perfect location for visiting our family. Will definitely return. Great girlie few days away

Reviewer:M | Sun 2nd Jun 2019 | 4 months ago


Superb - Rating 5/5

6 off us stayed at this superb B&B, over this weekend, you cannot fault it, the rooms are outstandingly clean, all with en suite, and whats more they all have balconies, overlooking the wild life, such as donkeys, chickens, and ducks , which are free to roam, the owners Nick and Jenny, love their animals, and being vegetarians could not eat them, even though they serve a spectacular breakfast with home made produce bread really nice,sausages are lovely,eggs from their chickens, bacon locally sourced, cant wait to go back. This was our second time,nothing is too much trouble,its great to go back to your room at 9pm and sit on the balcony, even with the English weather. Keith and family, from Dorset

Reviewer:K | Fri 31st May 2019 | 4 months ago


Gastgeber und Unterkunft, wie man es sich wünscht, um sich rundum wohl zu fühlen - Rating 5/5

Tolle Gastgeber mit herzlicher Begrüßung und sehr nettem Kontakt während des gesamten Aufenthaltes (besonderen Dank an Nick für die wunderbaren Restauranttipps, The Coconut war überragend), ruhige Lage des Hauses, geräumiges und sehr sauberes Zimmer mit allen Annehmlichkeiten, besonders die Größe und Komfort des Badezimmers hat unsere Erwartungen und bisherigen Erfahrungen in England mehr als übertroffen. Wir kommen wieder!

Reviewer:H | Tue 28th May 2019 | 5 months ago


Best B&B - Rating 5/5

We have had some wonderful visits at Avalon Lodge over the past four years. We are a group of family and friends who annually get together for a golfing weekend (the ladies shop) we cannot praise JENNY AND NICK enough. Their hospitality is second to none. Nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are so comfortable with everything you need. The breakfast is always fabulous with such a variety. The fruit pancakes are the best. There are great pubs around for eating out. You won't be disappointed.

Response

Dear Jane,It has always been a pleasure to have you and your friends stay with us.We are glad that you've enjoyed visiting and the guys have relished the local golf facilities whilst the ladies have made the most of the shopping opportunities :-)It's good to start the day with a decent breakfast and the pancakes are a firm favourite. Likewise, it's important to finish the day off with a good meal and as you've found we are blessed with numerous great places to eat.We wish you all well.Thank you,Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:Jane G | Sat 25th May 2019 | 5 months ago


Canal Walkers - Rating 5/5

Two friends and I were walking part of the Kennet & Avon Canal (Bath to Hungerford in four sections) We decided to stay somewhere in the middle and chose the Avalon Lodge for our accommodation. It was exactly what we wanted. Very reasonably priced, very comfortable beds (essential after a hard days walking) and a breakfast choice for everyone. A "full english" was on offer but I opted for eggs each morning which was a great choice as the eggs were from hens in the back garden and the deepest orange yolks that I have ever seen. My friends and I have walked a long distance path each year since 2005 and stayed at well over 100 B&B's in that time and Avalon Loldge is up there with the best of them. Nick and Jenny could not have been more friendly and welcoming. I would recommend this B&B to everyone.

Response

Dear Chris,Many thanks for your kind comments, Chris, they are much appreciated and obviously help others when deciding where to stay.It was a pleasure to meet you and your companions and were so pleased that you managed to achieve the walks that you wanted and didn't get wet once, not always possible to arrange!Glad you found the beds comfortable, as it's such an important element of a B&B we have invested in quality mattresses and bedding. And whilst we can't take credit for the quality of the eggs it's good to know that our hens and ducks are being appreciated :-)Thank you for staying with us, we often get booked by people walking or cycling the Avon and Kennet canal as we are in such a good spot.Wishing you the best on future walks,Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:C | Fri 17th May 2019 | 5 months ago


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

What a gem. A warm welcome with a cuppa. A genuine interest in our plans and so much local knowledge helping us plan day trips. Spacious comfortable rooms. Great location, country feel but easy drive to so many places. Freshly prepared breakfast and many places within a few minutes drive for evening meals. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:P | Sat 11th May 2019 | 5 months ago


Avalon Lodge - Rating 5/5

Very warm welcome by host on arrival. Excellent food and accommodation. We had the four poster bedroom as it was our 40th wedding anniversary. Came and went as we wanted. Good recommendations for evening food.

Response

DearPhil,It was great to meet you both and thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review.We are pleased that you enjoyed your anniversary present and stay with us.We hope that may return in the near future and take part in more of your life's celebrations and milestones!Warmest regards,Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:Phil S | Wed 8th May 2019 | 5 months ago


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

A lovely place !Our hosts were very nice and friendly.Breakfast was excellent with a lot of choice.The family room was very comfortable and clean.We stayed 4 nights and really enjoyed this B&B !Everything was perfect.

Response

Bonjour Laurence,It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us in the family room.We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here and all the different places to visit.Hopefully, you returned home with lots of great memories of your holiday in England.Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review, it is appreciated.Nick & Jenny

Reviewer:L | Thu 2nd May 2019 | 5 months ago


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

Fantastic service, great location, lovely rooms, good food, at every level fabulous. They even hired and installed an air conditioning unit for my friend with MS. The warmth a friendliness and desire to help was inspiring.

Response

Thanks Julia,Appreciate you taking the time out from a busy schedule to leave such a lovely review. You know we love to help if we can and only wish we had more rooms to meet the demand! :-)We look forward to being of more help in the future.Regards,Nick & Jenny

Reviewer:J | Tue 30th Apr 2019 | 5 months ago


Wedding Visit - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely time Nick and Jenny made us welcome as soon as we got there nothing was to much trouble the rooms were superb and to wake up and open patio doors and go out onto balcony on a sunny morning was the icing on the cake and the en-suit, you couldnt ask for more everything catered for The breakfasts were very good plus everything you wanted cant recommend this bed and breakfast enough.

Response

Hi and thank you! Your comments are really appreciated and do help others when they are deciding where to stay in Wiltshire.So many guests love the fact that we have the balconies on three of our rooms, something not found on the majority of B&B's or even hotels and such a great benefit during the summer months with the southerly views out over the countryside.We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and it would be great to see you at some point in the future.Regards,Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:S | Fri 26th Apr 2019 | 6 months ago


Great hotel with stunning views and very friendly owners - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for two nights whilst visiting a friend in the area.Picked this B&B as the reviews were good and SO glad we did. This B&B is great.Nick was very welcoming on our arrival. We booked the Serenity room, it has amazing views of the countryside from the balcony. The room was clean and spacious and had everything you needed (it was like home from home). The room had a fridge and tea/coffee facilities and the bathroom had all the toiletries needed.The area was lovely and peaceful with very easy parking.The breakfast was lovely fresh homemade scrambled eggs, laid from the chickens that roam the garden. After breakfast we fed the donkeys (Alan and Hazel) and strolled around the garden with the chickens and ducks.Nick and Jenny were very accomodating and friendly, and I would HIGHLY recommend everyone to stay here.It was very easy to find and only five minutes drive to the Caen locks and about 25 minutes to Stonehenge.'Thank You' Nick and Jenny for a wonderful stay.

Response

Hi Jane,It was great to meet you and your Mum and you would have enjoyed this morning's episode with Alan & Hazel. They managed to get in the garden and trying to persuade them to leave would have been entertaining and educational. Donkeys are definitely not stupid! Meanwhile, the hens and ducks are just basking in the sun.As you found, it's not boring here, if there's not something going on in the garden that you can watch from the balcony then there are plenty of lovely places to visit.Thank you for your kind words, we are delighted you enjoyed your time here and if you are able to come again it will be great to see you.Take care,Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:J | Tue 23rd Apr 2019 | 6 months ago


Wow... - Rating 5/5

I have traveled to nearly 40 countries in my career on business and I stay at B & B's only about 20% of the time. However, this was an amazing place to stay from the views to the room comfort and most of all due to the owners. Absolutley the best lodging experience for me - all the comforts of home with great food and owners who care very much. This area is very historically significant as well do not miss this one...!

Response

Hi,Many thanks for your response, particularly as we know how busy you are on your travel with work.It was an absolute pleasure to meet you and to share our UK hospitality with you. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and founds us a haven on your travels.Maybe one day you'll be able to come back for a holiday with your wife and enjoy all the area has to offer in a more relaxed way.All the best,Nick & Jenny

Reviewer:L | Sun 21st Apr 2019 | 6 months ago


Amazing - Rating 5/5

We have stopped here twice now and on both occasions we have throughly enjoyed our stay. Nick and Jenny are the best hosts who have looked after us from the booking to departure.The room has everything required for a place to either relax and sleep with the added benifit of a private balcony over seeing the beautiful country side, not forgetting Nick and Jenny’s donkeys, Chickens and Ducks in there great little garden below.Amazing place well worth the visit, can not wait to come back.

Response

Hi,It was good to see you again and many thanks for your review and positive comments. It really is rewarding that we have so many guests return, one of the reasons why we've just received another batch of rescue hens and two more ducks, in order to keep up with the egg demands!Hope you had a good journey home and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs G | Sun 31st Mar 2019 | 6 months ago


Pleasure and Perfection - Rating 5/5

Open the Visitors book at Avalon Lodge and you could be forgiven for thinking that the proprietors, Nick and Jenny, had written the multitudinous entries themselves. They are very similar in content, but bear testimony to the consistency of high standards at this remarkabler B and B. Nick and Jenny must surely be two of the kindest, most accommodating, generous, helpful, animal centred and all round good hosts that you will find.These attitudes are reflected in their rooms - great attention to detail - their breakfasts - nothing too much trouble, and all the added little touches that say ' we are pleased to look after you;we are not just here for the money.' No corporate measures here - 2 t bags and milk in portions. No, at Avalon Lodge you get a caddy of T bags and a miniature milk bottle in your room fridge. Fresh chilled water, a huge array of assorted T bags;all diets - vegetarians, gluten free, coeliacs all welcomed with a 'can do' attitude.My credentials to write this review? I have been visiting every 6 weeks or thereabouts for the past 5 years so I can truly testify to the consistenvcy of the B and B. Go and enjoy beautiful Wiltshire country with the best of B and B's after your special days out.

Response

Thank you, we are touched by your comments.It has always been a pleasure to have you stay and we've enjoyed your company and quips.Our goal, since we first started over ten years ago, has always been to make a stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible for guests, so they can have a great time visiting all the many local attractions (or a good day's work!) We have met countless numbers of wonderful people, like you, over the years and have also listened to their suggestions and taken them on board where possible.We don't claim to be perfect but we do try our best to help people enjoy their time away. Admittedly we also love our animals but like to think that the cats, hens, ducks and donkeys all add to the experience of staying at Avalon Lodge.Overall it's great fun and we are lucky to live within Wiltshire's golden triangle, with the UNESCO sites of Stonehenge, Avebury Circle and Bath, all being within easy reach.Thank you again for taking the time to write such a lovely review and hopefully we shall see you again in the future,Nick & Jenny

Reviewer:J | Sun 17th Mar 2019 | 7 months ago


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

This B&B is the best you will find anywhere. Stayed for two nights, very comfortable, excellent breakfast, lovely comfortable beds. We have stayed in B&Bs all over the country and this one beats them all. Very friendly and helpful owners, you can book this one with complete confidence. Miss it and regret it!!.

Response

Hi Bob, we are delighted that you and your wife enjoyed your stay and touched that you thought we were the best B&B you have ever stayed in. We do strive to make it as comfortable and welcoming as possible and to ensure we provide a great breakfast to start the day.Many thanks for taking the time to write the review and for your comments.Look forward to seeing you again in the future.Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:Bob B | Wed 6th Mar 2019 | 7 months ago


Relaxing Break - Rating 5/5

Lovely location, Nick and Jenny are lovely hosts and a super breakfast with eggs from their own hens. Room as good as 5 star hotel. Really good location for pubs to eat in on an evening. Only 5 minutes from Devizes.

Response

Hi, many thanks for your lovely review, which is really appreciated, like the eggs! We are very lucky with our ducks and hens as this year they don't seem to have slowed down for the winter and have continued producing non-stop. We've just taken into care 4 more rescue hens so they also join the rescue donkeys, not to mention the rescued cats ;-)We are so glad you liked your room. We have tried to ensure each of the four are styled differently but are as comfortable as possible with all the little extras that we can think of and if you have any suggestions of what else would be good then please do let us know as we are always looking to improve things.We look forward to seeing you again,

Reviewer:S | Mon 4th Mar 2019 | 7 months ago


All You Could Ask From A B&B and More..... - Rating 5/5

I have stayed here for at least 1 night up to 4 nights every week since mid Dec 2018 due to working locally and I can honestly say this is the best B&B experience I have had. Nothing is too much trouble for Nick & Jenny and you are made to feel right at home from the moment you step through the front door.Rooms are clean, comfortable and definitely generous in size, as are the en suite bathrooms. Attention to detail is the order of the day with fresh milk and filtered water in your own mini fridge alongside a vast array of hot drinks. Breakfast choices are great and there is something there for all tastes.Nick & Jenny possess a wealth of knowledge about the local area and there are a great supply of brochures and leaflets for those that want to explore the local area and further afield. I would definitely recommend Avalon Lodge for business travellers, tourists and those who just want a few nights away with no hassles. I stayed mainly in "Haven" which is a gorgeous double room with its own large balcony looking over the Wiltshire countryside, although given the time of year I didn't get to enjoy the balcony as much as I would have liked. All in all you can't go far wrong booking Avalon Lodge B&B.

Response

Hello Fraser,We know how busy you are so we really appreciate you taking the time and leaving such a positive review.As you have had to spend so much time away from home we are so pleased that you found Avalon Lodge so welcoming. We try and ensure that guests feel at home whether staying for a couple of nights or a couple of months and so are delighted that you found all the facilities and little extras helpful.The mini fridges have turned out to be really useful as not only do we fill them with all sorts but the guests find them so useful for putting their items in as well. Likewise, it\'s surprising how often the microwave gets used and as you found there is always crockery and cutlery available.It\'s a pity your stay coincided with winter as you would have enjoyed sitting out on the balcony, enjoying the view and watching the hens and donkeys. As you discovered there iare lots of attractions to visit and places to explore close by so maybe one day you\'ll be able to return on holiday and enjoy all the area has to offer.All the best with work and thanks again,Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:F | Fri 15th Feb 2019 | 8 months ago


Amazing - Rating 5/5

Amazing place to stay with nothing too much trouble , beautiful breakfast and caring hosts. Thanks for another lovely stay

Response

Thank you Andrea, lovely to see you again and glad you enjoyed your stay. You know we love to try and make this a haven for when you have to work away and would welcome any suggestions.Look forward to seeing you again at some point,Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:Andrea R | Sat 9th Feb 2019 | 8 months ago


Don't Go Past This B&B - Rating 5/5

Positive:Everything. Our hosts Nick and Jenny were fantastic. The bed is like sleeping on a cloud. Breakfast is absolutely brilliant.Negative:Absolutely nothing to complain about.

Reviewer:Marcel & Paula D | Sat 9th Feb 2019 | 8 months ago


Don't Go Past This B&B - Rating 5/5

Everything (perfect). Our hosts Nick and Jenny were fantastic. The bed is like sleeping on a cloud. Breakfast is absolutely brilliant.Absolutely nothing to complain about.

Reviewer:M | Thu 7th Feb 2019 | 8 months ago


You must experience a stay here!- Rating 5/5

"Absolutely fantastic stay! The attention to detail at Avalon is so amazing. Customer service made you feel like you are one of the family. Thank you"

Reviewer:John S | Tue 8th Jan 2019 | 9 months ago


Luxurious - Rating 5/5

"Nothing is too much trouble, everything is just perfect from the luxurious towels to the chocolates on the bed! Would totally recommend"

Reviewer:S | Sun 30th Dec 2018 | 9 months ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

"It lives up to the description on the web site perfectly. Delicious breakfasts and a wonderfully comfy bed! Thanks"

Reviewer:V | Thu 27th Dec 2018 | 10 months ago


3rd Visit - Rating 5/5

Unfailingly good experience. Very well appointed rooms and an excellent breakfast with a lot of choice. Nick & Jenny are very good hosts, always welcoming & very friendly. Plenty of off-road parking. An ideal base for visiting this area.

Reviewer:Dave M | Mon 17th Dec 2018 | 10 months ago


An absolute delight from start (initial contact / correspondence) to finish (Departure) - Rating 5/5

Absolutely everything! Brilliant on every level. Particularly thrilled with the laid back and flexible approach from Nick and Jill. They set very high high standards, both professional / commercial and also ethical / ecologically - and it shows in everything they provide and do.

Reviewer:S | Thu 13th Dec 2018 | 10 months ago


One of the Best B&Bs - Rating 5/5

First time here and won’t be the last one. We got “Haven” room and it was better than we expected. Nick & Jenny were very helpful and warm when we arrived and during our stay. It’s the best choice if you want to be near Bath, Castle Combe and Devizes.

Response

Hello Konstantinos,It was a real pleasure meeting you both and we hope you also enjoyed your visit to the nearby National Trust village of Lacock on your way home.As you discovered Bath and its Christmas Market is within easy reach as are lots of other lovely places. If you come back in the summer everywhere looks different again!Hopefully, your batteries have been recharged to keep you going for a while and we wish you a magical Christmas.Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:K | Sat 24th Nov 2018 | 11 months ago


Lovely place to stay, with friendly and thoughtful hosts - Rating 5/5

the breakfast selection was very pleasant - giving option aside from the usual full english (fresh pancakes, avocado on toast etc). the hosts were very welcoming and friendly. the room was lovely and clean with lots of thoughtful additional items (such as nibbles in the room paid for by honest box, dressing robe and slipper provided, torch on the keys incase its needed late at night). i would definitely stay here again if i am in the area

Reviewer:J | Tue 13th Nov 2018 | 11 months ago


Far Beyond Our Expectations! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay - Rating 5/5

Nick and Jenny were extremely superior hosts. From their initial greeting upon check-in, to the farewell with “selfies’, their warmth and sincerity made us feel more like close friends, than visitors or guests. Their finite attention to every requirement for guest comfort and enjoyment, contributed to and enhanced our wonderful, relaxing, and extraordinary experience in the Avalon B&B.Nick’s (and Jenny’s) breakfast preparation and servings, merit “Michelin Star” status for (re)fine dining quality. Our delicious and filling breakfast meals were exceptionally delightful, exceeding guests expectations.Their graciousness, hospitality and sincerity were beyond measure and truly appreciated. The convenient location, the warm and cozy setting, the picturesque views of the countryside, the comfortable bedroom and bed, the fresh linen, the cleanliness of the bathroom, the thoughtful amenities, their warm assistance, (I could go on and on), were fabulous. All were off the scale in the “WOW” factor.We enjoyed our stay so much, that we decided to extend our visit, unflappable, Nick was so wonderful in accommodating us, without having to perform a dreaded room shift.We will never forget our visit to Devizes and Wiltshire, and are looking forward to returning to the Avalon Lodge to rekindle these wonderful memories.Thank you Jenny and Nick for being such exceptional hosts and making us feel.The Avalon Lodge B & B is deservant of 10 Stars!

Response

Hello David,Apologies for overlooking responding to your wonderful review. It was a real pleasure to meet you and your wife and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time here as well as your visit to Wiltshire, England. It was far too short and you must return one day to discover more of what the area has to offer. We have a lot of guests from the USA and Canada (not to mention Australia and Germany) who book for two nights then wish they\'d doubled or trebled their time!Because there are so many places to visit and enjoy we are pleased that you found your base at Avalon Lodge so welcoming and comfortable. We know from our own travels that in addition to the basics of a comfortable bed and cleanliness all the little extras do come into their own, whether it\'s the fridge and snacks, the useful items in the bathroom cabinet or the cosy dressing gowns!Likewise, when you are out and about all day it\'s important to start with a great breakfast and although we may not be Michelin status (but thank you for the compliment!) we do try and provide a great range of options for all tastes and diets but certainly the pancakes, as well as the advocado, always seem to go down well.We hope your memories of Wiltshire (not to mention Avalon Lodge) bring you great pleasure when looking back in years ahead.Thanks again,Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:David W | Thu 1st Nov 2018 | 11 months ago


Our Stay At the Avalon Lodge - Rating 5/5

The Avalon was brilliant. It was warm and cosy. Nick and Jenny were the perfect hosts. They were welcoming and friendly. Nick recommended places to eat and the recommendations were splendid and spot on, even saying they were quite happy if we ordered a takeaway to be delivered if we didn't want to go out. The lounge had a TV and lots of board games. The breakfast was great, we chose what we would like when we arrived but Nick and Jenny were happy to change the order in the morning if needed. I think they were surprised at how little we wanted! There was a huge range of food in any variation. We had a triple room with three single beds, one of which was in an alcove separate from the main room with a sliding door. The beds were clean and comfortable and the facilities next to none :tea and coffee making with an incredible range, a stocked fridge with an honesty box, the prices very reasonable, each area had it's own tv. The bathroom was immaculate with plenty of towels and toiletries. The room was large. On the landing were bookshelves with books and DVDs, there were brochures for places to go and even a microwave. We were able to come and go as we wished. We were very close to Devizes, a lovely town, but we're were also not far from any of the places we came to see. I cannot praise the Avalon Lodge and Nick and Jenny highly enough. Thoroughly recommended.

Reviewer:C | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 12 months ago


Avalon Lodge is ideally positioned to explore Wiltshire and one of the best places we have stayed. - Rating 5/5

Nicky and Jenny were excellent hosts. They made us feel so at home, nothing was too much trouble. Their knowledge of the area was very informative and would help us to make the best of our visit to the area, by suggesting places that we wouldn't have known about. Their lounge( called the oasis) was very comfortable and contained excellent reading materialThere wasn't anything to improve, as Nicky and Jenny have thought of everything that a traveller would need, plus extra.

Reviewer:T | Sun 28th Oct 2018 | 12 months ago


Didn't Want To Leave - Rating 5/5

We were fortunate to spend a few nights with Jenny and Nick in their beautiful home in Devizes. From the early correspondence regarding our booking followed by the most warmest of welcomes and carrying through our entire stay, my husband and I felt spoiled. The home is perfectly located for so many ventures and the accommodations were beyond stellar! Room was large and had more than you could imagine needing along with a balcony overlooking the beautiful Wiltshire countryside and Jenny and Nick's chickens, kitties and donkeys! The bathroom was huge and updated- gorgeous!Our breakfasts were...sensational!! Delicious, filling and again, more than you could think of wanting.Jenny and Nick are true gems. They helped us with anything we needed and we greatly appreciated their ideas. They made us feel welcome from the day of booking through to our departure and when my husband and I reminisce about our trip to the UK, Avalon B&B (et all) are one of our most fond memories.Thank you Jenny and Nick for making a couple of Canadians feel like a part of your family!

Response

It was a real pleasure meeting you and we want to thank you for staying at Avalon Lodge and hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in England. It is always good to share the attractions of Wiltshire with guests from near or far, the only difficulty being how to fit so much in during a short stay! Thank you for your lovely comments, which are much appreciated and for taking the time to write as you're probably back in the thick of things at home again now. Any time you want to retrn you know where we are :-)

Reviewer:L | Tue 16th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Best B&B We Have Ever Stayed - Rating 5/5

Being well travelled and having stayed in many different accommodation types, this by far was the most relaxing, competive and friendliest place we have stayed.The room was fabulous and a newly renovated bathroom, the grounds were lovely and so lovely having all the animals around, the location is really good and around a mile to the town, the hosts were fabulous and couldn’t not do enough for us, the breakfast was also delicious!Thanks Again

Response

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here and we are sure the hens, ducks, donkeys, etc love the attention they receive. We continue to try and improve on what we provide and appreciate all feedback. Thank you for staying and for your comments, which are really appreciated,Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:A | Tue 16th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Didn't Want To Leave - Rating 5/5

We were fortunate to spend a few nights with Jenny and Nick in their beautiful home in Devizes. From the early correspondence regarding our booking followed by the most warmest of welcomes and carrying through our entire stay, my husband and I felt spoiled. The home is perfectly located for so many ventures and the accommodations were beyond stellar! Room was large and had more than you could imagine needing along with a balcony overlooking the beautiful Wiltshire countryside and Jenny and Nick's chickens, kitties and donkeys! The bathroom was huge and updated- gorgeous!Our breakfasts were...sensational!! Delicious, filling and again, more than you could think of wanting.Jenny and Nick are true gems. They helped us with anything we needed and we greatly appreciated their ideas. They made us feel welcome from the day of booking through to our departure and when my husband and I reminisce about our trip to the UK, Avalon B&B (et all) are one of our most fond memories.Thank you Jenny and Nick for making a couple of Canadians feel like a part of your family!

Response

It was a real pleasure meeting you and we want to thank you for staying at Avalon Lodge and hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in England. It is always good to share the attractions of Wiltshire with guests from near or far, the only difficulty being how to fit so much in during a short stay! Thank you for your lovely comments, which are much appreciated and for taking the time to write as you're probably back in the thick of things at home again now. Any time you want to retrn you know where we are :-)

Reviewer:M | Tue 16th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


The perfect place to stay! - Rating 5/5

We received a warm and friendly welcome on our arrival from Nick, the owner, who helped carry our luggage upstairs for us then made us tea with biscuits and sat and chatted with us. He then phoned round local pubs until he was able to book us dinners for the two nights we stayed with him. Both pub restaurants, The George and Dragon and the Westbrook served excellent food.Our room was spacious, light and airy and with a very comfortable bed. The ensuite was modern. Everything we needed seemed to have been provided and much careful thought had apparently gone into what travellers might require.Breakfast was superb - something for everyone's tastes! We were served by Jenny, Nick's wife who was as pleasant and friendly as he was.The guests were welcome to walk round the lovely garden and meet the two pet donkeys and several sweet rescued chickens who all lived in comfortable accommodation at the end of the garden!The location is excellent for many interesting places to visit and to sum up I have to say this is just about the nicest b & b my husband and I have ever stayed in and we wouldn't hesitate in choosing it whenever we are going to Wiltshire again.

Reviewer:h | Fri 5th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


Outstanding accommodation - Rating 5/5

what a place to visit,so accomadating are Nick and Jenny, met on arrival and shown into the lounge area, where we were asked if we would like tea and biscuits, then shown to our rooms, which under no stretch of the imagination were immaculate spotlessly clean, super large shower room, with all modern facilities, the bed was so comfatable it was quite amazing, the girls said the best place they have ever stayed in, good nights sleep then breakfast, every thing freshly cooked 6 stars, 2 eggs 2 rashers 2 sausages, Heinz baked beans mushrooms and tomato which were lovely,tea was hot, coffee was fresh, you cannot fault this place, with a nice outlook and our rooms had balconies over looking, ducks having a bath,chickens roaming around and even donkeys, which we found out had all been rescued and now extremely well looked after,the same for us, nothing was too much trouble

Reviewer:K | Sun 30th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Absolutely Excellent - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable, very welcoming - Nick and Jenny have thought of everything to make a memorable, trouble-free and hassle-free experience. Rooms and facilities of the highest standard, excellent and varied breakfasts, and plenty of help and information.

Reviewer:M | Sun 30th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


The Best B&B I have stayed In - Rating 5/5

Excellent from start to finish. Simply the best. The welcome was lovely and informative, wealth of local knowledge and the rooms were unbeatable, comfortable and totally relaxing. I would stay here every time that I am in the area in the future.

Reviewer:Neil G | Mon 27th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Another excellent stay at this wonderful B&B - Rating 5/5

It's so good we come back every year.Nothing is too much trouble for Nick & Jenny.Lovely room and fantastic breakfast. It has everything you could possibly wish for in a B&B. There is even a torch with your room key just in case you get back late !!

Reviewer:Clive R | Wed 15th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


More Than Just a Bed and Breakfast - Rating 5/5

Upon arrival we received a lovely and welcoming greeting.We were invited into the gardens and offered a drink with no rush to check us in, which made us feel very relaxed after our journey.Whilst in the garden we were introduced to Alan & Hazel, two rescue donkeys. We were then handed a form to fill in where we could select what time and exactly what we wanted for breakfast.Once this was completed were led up to our ‘Tranquility’ room.The room was fantastic. Very spacious, clean, beautifully decorated with everything you could want. We also had a large bathroom and balcony which looked over the grounds and beautiful surrounding landscape.Our breakfast was served at the time we ordered and was cooked to perfection. The choice was incredible. There was fruit, yogurt, cereal, juices and the full English breakfast.Nick gave us a few options of some local pubs that were within walking distance for dinner.Avalon lodge is in an ideal location if you are visiting Stonehenge, Longleat Safari Park and Avebury. (I am sure there are other attractions and places to visit but these are the ones we visited).Overall, we had an amazing stay. Nick & Jenny you make Avalon Lodge an extremely friendly, homely and welcoming place.Thank you.

Reviewer:W | Tue 7th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


The Best! - Rating 5/5

This is probably the best B&B I have ever stayed in, it rivals 4-star hotel accommodation. The owners are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are perfect, the breakfast was out of this world. Cannot recommend it enough.

Reviewer:Bob C | Mon 30th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


A brilliant b& b in every respect. - Rating 5/5

Jenny and her husband were very friendly and helpful. The three rooms we had booked were roomy, exceptionally well equipped (eg silent frig for fresh milk and chilled drinks, fan, dressing gown, tourist info). The rooms were light and airy and spotlessly clean. The bed was good quality and the whole building was furnished and decorated to a very high standard. Superb breakfasts, easy parking and pleasant gardens made this a perfect place to stay and excellent value.

Reviewer:J | Tue 24th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely Place To Stay! - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Avalon Lodge for 7 nights. The room was very clean and the bathroom almost new and huge! Jenny and Nick are one of the best hosts I ever met. You can choose the time when you wanna have breakfast and there is a huge variety of different dishes you can order. If you are there you have to try the avocado toast and for sure the delicious pancakes!So if you plan to travel this region you should definitely stay here!

Reviewer:Anni S | Thu 28th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely accommodation, location and owners - with donkeys! - Rating 5/5

Very friendly owners who went above and beyond. This was a surprise weekend for my husband. It was his birthday and the owners gave us a bottle of fizz and him a birthday card. Breakfasts were lovely and it was difficult to decide what to eat. Perhaps if we had stayed longer we could have got through the list of choices. Would love to stay here again. We were introduced to their 2 rescue donkeys, Hazel and Alan. A lovely room, nice and quiet and we had a balcony. Very close to Devizes, which is a lovely area to visit. Good parking but take care when exiting.

Reviewer:S | Sun 17th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Wonderful Relaxing Stay - Rating 5/5

Feel so lucky to have chosen such a wonderful place to stay for a family trip to attend a christening. The venue itself is beautifully appointed with such care and attention given to provide personal comfort and address every possible need. Everything available to ensure visitors have the perfect stay. Nick & Jenny are the perfect hosts and the breakfasts were totally top notch from the quality of the produce to the cooking and presentation. Look no further than Avalon Lodge to ensure a wonderful break. Hope to return soon. Thank you so much.

Response

Hello Sylvia,We think we were as lucky to have you and your family stay with us and we are glad you enjoyed your time here.Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review, we do try and keep improving on what we offer and always welcome suggestions.It would be great to see you at some time in the future, meanwhile take care,Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:Sylvia H | Mon 7th May 2018 | 1 year ago


A Little Gem In The Middle Of The Wiltshire Countryside - Rating 5/5

From the time we arrived, to meet Nick, who almost immediately offered us tea & biscuits(good biscuits too), to the day we left, he & Jenny were excellent hosts, breakfasts were delicious, rooms were well decorated, with a lovely big, comfortable brass bed, with an impressive en-suite bathroom( huge shower cubicle).They go out of their way to ensure their guests have a pleasant stay. They provide a better service than some 4* hotels I've been in. A recommended stay in Wiltshire!

Response

Thank you for your comments, which are much appreciated. We are lucky that we are so well placed for visiting all the delights and mysteries (of which there are many) of Wiltshire, not to mention being so close to Bath and Bristol. If we could guarantee the sunshine it would be bliss!Glad you enjoyed your time here and it would be lovely to see you again in the future,Warmest regards, Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:SwanseaBeach B | Sun 25th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


Pity I Can Only Give It 5 Stars! - Rating 5/5

My room was beautiful, so peaceful, the house welcoming, my hosts so attentive, even helped me scrape the ice from my car windows! And the breakfasts? Out of this world, so good my friends came over from their hotels to join in. Honestly if you are looking for clean, tidy, comfortable and welcoming this is the place to be.

Response

Thankfully Carole there are not too many days when ice needs scraping off the cars but we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you made your friends envious :-) Look forward to seeing you again in the future, maybe when the sun is shining,Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:Carole M | Tue 27th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


Return Visit - Rating 5/5

Yet again, Nick and Jenny have excelled themselves in providing us with another incredibly relaxing two-night stay. The 5 hour drive was definitely worth it:an ensuite addition to our favourite room, the little extras as a Christmas gift, the extensive range of teas, coffees and chocolate provided in our room, but most of all...their genuinely warm welcome and fabulous breakfasts. We call it our 'Oasis'. Superb! See you again soon.

Response

It was great to see you again and just a pity you couldn\\\'t have stayed longer to recharge your batteries.Thank you for taking the time in a busy schedule to write such a lovely review. We love looking after guests and we do appreciate your comments.We look forward to seeing you both again,Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:N | Wed 3rd Jan 2018 | 1 year ago


Book Online