Reviews

What people are saying about Avalon Lodge Bed & Breakfast




Brilliant - Rating 5/5

This B&B is the best you will find anywhere. Stayed for two nights, very comfortable, excellent breakfast, lovely comfortable beds. We have stayed in B&Bs all over the country and this one beats them all. Very friendly and helpful owners, you can book this one with complete confidence. Miss it and regret it!!.

Response

Hi Bob, we are delighted that you and your wife enjoyed your stay and touched that you thought we were the best B&B you have ever stayed in. We do strive to make it as comfortable and welcoming as possible and to ensure we provide a great breakfast to start the day.Many thanks for taking the time to write the review and for your comments.Look forward to seeing you again in the future.Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:Bob B | Wed 6th Mar 2019 | 1 week ago


Relaxing Break - Rating 5/5

Lovely location, Nick and Jenny are lovely hosts and a super breakfast with eggs from their own hens. Room as good as 5 star hotel. Really good location for pubs to eat in on an evening. Only 5 minutes from Devizes.

Response

Hi, many thanks for your lovely review, which is really appreciated, like the eggs! We are very lucky with our ducks and hens as this year they don't seem to have slowed down for the winter and have continued producing non-stop. We've just taken into care 4 more rescue hens so they also join the rescue donkeys, not to mention the rescued cats ;-)We are so glad you liked your room. We have tried to ensure each of the four are styled differently but are as comfortable as possible with all the little extras that we can think of and if you have any suggestions of what else would be good then please do let us know as we are always looking to improve things.We look forward to seeing you again,

Reviewer:S | Mon 4th Mar 2019 | 2 weeks ago


All You Could Ask From A B&B and More..... - Rating 5/5

I have stayed here for at least 1 night up to 4 nights every week since mid Dec 2018 due to working locally and I can honestly say this is the best B&B experience I have had. Nothing is too much trouble for Nick & Jenny and you are made to feel right at home from the moment you step through the front door.Rooms are clean, comfortable and definitely generous in size, as are the en suite bathrooms. Attention to detail is the order of the day with fresh milk and filtered water in your own mini fridge alongside a vast array of hot drinks. Breakfast choices are great and there is something there for all tastes.Nick & Jenny possess a wealth of knowledge about the local area and there are a great supply of brochures and leaflets for those that want to explore the local area and further afield. I would definitely recommend Avalon Lodge for business travellers, tourists and those who just want a few nights away with no hassles. I stayed mainly in "Haven" which is a gorgeous double room with its own large balcony looking over the Wiltshire countryside, although given the time of year I didn't get to enjoy the balcony as much as I would have liked. All in all you can't go far wrong booking Avalon Lodge B&B.

Response

Hello Fraser,We know how busy you are so we really appreciate you taking the time and leaving such a positive review.As you have had to spend so much time away from home we are so pleased that you found Avalon Lodge so welcoming. We try and ensure that guests feel at home whether staying for a couple of nights or a couple of months and so are delighted that you found all the facilities and little extras helpful.The mini fridges have turned out to be really useful as not only do we fill them with all sorts but the guests find them so useful for putting their items in as well. Likewise, it\'s surprising how often the microwave gets used and as you found there is always crockery and cutlery available.It\'s a pity your stay coincided with winter as you would have enjoyed sitting out on the balcony, enjoying the view and watching the hens and donkeys. As you discovered there iare lots of attractions to visit and places to explore close by so maybe one day you\'ll be able to return on holiday and enjoy all the area has to offer.All the best with work and thanks again,Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:F | Fri 15th Feb 2019 | 1 month ago


Amazing - Rating 5/5

Amazing place to stay with nothing too much trouble , beautiful breakfast and caring hosts. Thanks for another lovely stay

Response

Thank you Andrea, lovely to see you again and glad you enjoyed your stay. You know we love to try and make this a haven for when you have to work away and would welcome any suggestions.Look forward to seeing you again at some point,Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:Andrea R | Sat 9th Feb 2019 | 1 month ago


Don't Go Past This B&B - Rating 5/5

Positive:Everything. Our hosts Nick and Jenny were fantastic. The bed is like sleeping on a cloud. Breakfast is absolutely brilliant.Negative:Absolutely nothing to complain about.

Reviewer:Marcel & Paula D | Sat 9th Feb 2019 | 1 month ago


You must experience a stay here!- Rating 5/5

"Absolutely fantastic stay! The attention to detail at Avalon is so amazing. Customer service made you feel like you are one of the family. Thank you"

Reviewer:John S | Tue 8th Jan 2019 | 2 months ago


Luxurious - Rating 5/5

"Nothing is too much trouble, everything is just perfect from the luxurious towels to the chocolates on the bed! Would totally recommend"

Reviewer:S | Sun 30th Dec 2018 | 2 months ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

"It lives up to the description on the web site perfectly. Delicious breakfasts and a wonderfully comfy bed! Thanks"

Reviewer:V | Thu 27th Dec 2018 | 2 months ago


3rd Visit - Rating 5/5

Unfailingly good experience. Very well appointed rooms and an excellent breakfast with a lot of choice. Nick & Jenny are very good hosts, always welcoming & very friendly. Plenty of off-road parking. An ideal base for visiting this area.

Reviewer:Dave M | Mon 17th Dec 2018 | 3 months ago


One of the Best B&Bs - Rating 5/5

First time here and won’t be the last one. We got “Haven” room and it was better than we expected. Nick & Jenny were very helpful and warm when we arrived and during our stay. It’s the best choice if you want to be near Bath, Castle Combe and Devizes.

Response

Hello Konstantinos,It was a real pleasure meeting you both and we hope you also enjoyed your visit to the nearby National Trust village of Lacock on your way home.As you discovered Bath and its Christmas Market is within easy reach as are lots of other lovely places. If you come back in the summer everywhere looks different again!Hopefully, your batteries have been recharged to keep you going for a while and we wish you a magical Christmas.Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:K | Sat 24th Nov 2018 | 3 months ago


Far Beyond Our Expectations! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay - Rating 5/5

Nick and Jenny were extremely superior hosts. From their initial greeting upon check-in, to the farewell with “selfies’, their warmth and sincerity made us feel more like close friends, than visitors or guests. Their finite attention to every requirement for guest comfort and enjoyment, contributed to and enhanced our wonderful, relaxing, and extraordinary experience in the Avalon B&B.Nick’s (and Jenny’s) breakfast preparation and servings, merit “Michelin Star” status for (re)fine dining quality. Our delicious and filling breakfast meals were exceptionally delightful, exceeding guests expectations.Their graciousness, hospitality and sincerity were beyond measure and truly appreciated. The convenient location, the warm and cozy setting, the picturesque views of the countryside, the comfortable bedroom and bed, the fresh linen, the cleanliness of the bathroom, the thoughtful amenities, their warm assistance, (I could go on and on), were fabulous. All were off the scale in the “WOW” factor.We enjoyed our stay so much, that we decided to extend our visit, unflappable, Nick was so wonderful in accommodating us, without having to perform a dreaded room shift.We will never forget our visit to Devizes and Wiltshire, and are looking forward to returning to the Avalon Lodge to rekindle these wonderful memories.Thank you Jenny and Nick for being such exceptional hosts and making us feel.The Avalon Lodge B & B is deservant of 10 Stars!

Response

Hello David,Apologies for overlooking responding to your wonderful review. It was a real pleasure to meet you and your wife and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time here as well as your visit to Wiltshire, England. It was far too short and you must return one day to discover more of what the area has to offer. We have a lot of guests from the USA and Canada (not to mention Australia and Germany) who book for two nights then wish they\'d doubled or trebled their time!Because there are so many places to visit and enjoy we are pleased that you found your base at Avalon Lodge so welcoming and comfortable. We know from our own travels that in addition to the basics of a comfortable bed and cleanliness all the little extras do come into their own, whether it\'s the fridge and snacks, the useful items in the bathroom cabinet or the cosy dressing gowns!Likewise, when you are out and about all day it\'s important to start with a great breakfast and although we may not be Michelin status (but thank you for the compliment!) we do try and provide a great range of options for all tastes and diets but certainly the pancakes, as well as the advocado, always seem to go down well.We hope your memories of Wiltshire (not to mention Avalon Lodge) bring you great pleasure when looking back in years ahead.Thanks again,Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:David W | Thu 1st Nov 2018 | 4 months ago


Didn't Want To Leave - Rating 5/5

We were fortunate to spend a few nights with Jenny and Nick in their beautiful home in Devizes. From the early correspondence regarding our booking followed by the most warmest of welcomes and carrying through our entire stay, my husband and I felt spoiled. The home is perfectly located for so many ventures and the accommodations were beyond stellar! Room was large and had more than you could imagine needing along with a balcony overlooking the beautiful Wiltshire countryside and Jenny and Nick's chickens, kitties and donkeys! The bathroom was huge and updated- gorgeous!Our breakfasts were...sensational!! Delicious, filling and again, more than you could think of wanting.Jenny and Nick are true gems. They helped us with anything we needed and we greatly appreciated their ideas. They made us feel welcome from the day of booking through to our departure and when my husband and I reminisce about our trip to the UK, Avalon B&B (et all) are one of our most fond memories.Thank you Jenny and Nick for making a couple of Canadians feel like a part of your family!

Response

It was a real pleasure meeting you and we want to thank you for staying at Avalon Lodge and hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in England. It is always good to share the attractions of Wiltshire with guests from near or far, the only difficulty being how to fit so much in during a short stay! Thank you for your lovely comments, which are much appreciated and for taking the time to write as you're probably back in the thick of things at home again now. Any time you want to retrn you know where we are :-)

Reviewer:L | Tue 16th Oct 2018 | 5 months ago


Best B&B We Have Ever Stayed - Rating 5/5

Being well travelled and having stayed in many different accommodation types, this by far was the most relaxing, competive and friendliest place we have stayed.The room was fabulous and a newly renovated bathroom, the grounds were lovely and so lovely having all the animals around, the location is really good and around a mile to the town, the hosts were fabulous and couldn’t not do enough for us, the breakfast was also delicious!Thanks Again

Response

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here and we are sure the hens, ducks, donkeys, etc love the attention they receive. We continue to try and improve on what we provide and appreciate all feedback. Thank you for staying and for your comments, which are really appreciated,Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:A | Tue 16th Oct 2018 | 5 months ago


Didn't Want To Leave - Rating 5/5

We were fortunate to spend a few nights with Jenny and Nick in their beautiful home in Devizes. From the early correspondence regarding our booking followed by the most warmest of welcomes and carrying through our entire stay, my husband and I felt spoiled. The home is perfectly located for so many ventures and the accommodations were beyond stellar! Room was large and had more than you could imagine needing along with a balcony overlooking the beautiful Wiltshire countryside and Jenny and Nick's chickens, kitties and donkeys! The bathroom was huge and updated- gorgeous!Our breakfasts were...sensational!! Delicious, filling and again, more than you could think of wanting.Jenny and Nick are true gems. They helped us with anything we needed and we greatly appreciated their ideas. They made us feel welcome from the day of booking through to our departure and when my husband and I reminisce about our trip to the UK, Avalon B&B (et all) are one of our most fond memories.Thank you Jenny and Nick for making a couple of Canadians feel like a part of your family!

Response

It was a real pleasure meeting you and we want to thank you for staying at Avalon Lodge and hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in England. It is always good to share the attractions of Wiltshire with guests from near or far, the only difficulty being how to fit so much in during a short stay! Thank you for your lovely comments, which are much appreciated and for taking the time to write as you're probably back in the thick of things at home again now. Any time you want to retrn you know where we are :-)

Reviewer:M | Tue 16th Oct 2018 | 5 months ago


Absolutely Excellent - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable, very welcoming - Nick and Jenny have thought of everything to make a memorable, trouble-free and hassle-free experience. Rooms and facilities of the highest standard, excellent and varied breakfasts, and plenty of help and information.

Reviewer:M | Sun 30th Sep 2018 | 5 months ago


The Best B&B I have stayed In - Rating 5/5

Excellent from start to finish. Simply the best. The welcome was lovely and informative, wealth of local knowledge and the rooms were unbeatable, comfortable and totally relaxing. I would stay here every time that I am in the area in the future.

Reviewer:Neil G | Mon 27th Aug 2018 | 6 months ago


More Than Just a Bed and Breakfast - Rating 5/5

Upon arrival we received a lovely and welcoming greeting.We were invited into the gardens and offered a drink with no rush to check us in, which made us feel very relaxed after our journey.Whilst in the garden we were introduced to Alan & Hazel, two rescue donkeys. We were then handed a form to fill in where we could select what time and exactly what we wanted for breakfast.Once this was completed were led up to our ‘Tranquility’ room.The room was fantastic. Very spacious, clean, beautifully decorated with everything you could want. We also had a large bathroom and balcony which looked over the grounds and beautiful surrounding landscape.Our breakfast was served at the time we ordered and was cooked to perfection. The choice was incredible. There was fruit, yogurt, cereal, juices and the full English breakfast.Nick gave us a few options of some local pubs that were within walking distance for dinner.Avalon lodge is in an ideal location if you are visiting Stonehenge, Longleat Safari Park and Avebury. (I am sure there are other attractions and places to visit but these are the ones we visited).Overall, we had an amazing stay. Nick & Jenny you make Avalon Lodge an extremely friendly, homely and welcoming place.Thank you.

Reviewer:W | Tue 7th Aug 2018 | 7 months ago


The Best! - Rating 5/5

This is probably the best B&B I have ever stayed in, it rivals 4-star hotel accommodation. The owners are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are perfect, the breakfast was out of this world. Cannot recommend it enough.

Reviewer:Bob C | Mon 30th Jul 2018 | 7 months ago


Lovely Place To Stay! - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Avalon Lodge for 7 nights. The room was very clean and the bathroom almost new and huge! Jenny and Nick are one of the best hosts I ever met. You can choose the time when you wanna have breakfast and there is a huge variety of different dishes you can order. If you are there you have to try the avocado toast and for sure the delicious pancakes!So if you plan to travel this region you should definitely stay here!

Reviewer:Anni S | Thu 28th Jun 2018 | 8 months ago


Wonderful Relaxing Stay - Rating 5/5

Feel so lucky to have chosen such a wonderful place to stay for a family trip to attend a christening. The venue itself is beautifully appointed with such care and attention given to provide personal comfort and address every possible need. Everything available to ensure visitors have the perfect stay. Nick & Jenny are the perfect hosts and the breakfasts were totally top notch from the quality of the produce to the cooking and presentation. Look no further than Avalon Lodge to ensure a wonderful break. Hope to return soon. Thank you so much.

Response

Hello Sylvia,We think we were as lucky to have you and your family stay with us and we are glad you enjoyed your time here.Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review, we do try and keep improving on what we offer and always welcome suggestions.It would be great to see you at some time in the future, meanwhile take care,Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:Sylvia H | Mon 7th May 2018 | 10 months ago


A Little Gem In The Middle Of The Wiltshire Countryside - Rating 5/5

From the time we arrived, to meet Nick, who almost immediately offered us tea & biscuits(good biscuits too), to the day we left, he & Jenny were excellent hosts, breakfasts were delicious, rooms were well decorated, with a lovely big, comfortable brass bed, with an impressive en-suite bathroom( huge shower cubicle).They go out of their way to ensure their guests have a pleasant stay. They provide a better service than some 4* hotels I've been in. A recommended stay in Wiltshire!

Response

Thank you for your comments, which are much appreciated. We are lucky that we are so well placed for visiting all the delights and mysteries (of which there are many) of Wiltshire, not to mention being so close to Bath and Bristol. If we could guarantee the sunshine it would be bliss!Glad you enjoyed your time here and it would be lovely to see you again in the future,Warmest regards, Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:SwanseaBeach B | Sun 25th Mar 2018 | 11 months ago


Pity I Can Only Give It 5 Stars! - Rating 5/5

My room was beautiful, so peaceful, the house welcoming, my hosts so attentive, even helped me scrape the ice from my car windows! And the breakfasts? Out of this world, so good my friends came over from their hotels to join in. Honestly if you are looking for clean, tidy, comfortable and welcoming this is the place to be.

Response

Thankfully Carole there are not too many days when ice needs scraping off the cars but we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and that you made your friends envious :-) Look forward to seeing you again in the future, maybe when the sun is shining,Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:Carole M | Tue 27th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


Return Visit - Rating 5/5

Yet again, Nick and Jenny have excelled themselves in providing us with another incredibly relaxing two-night stay. The 5 hour drive was definitely worth it:an ensuite addition to our favourite room, the little extras as a Christmas gift, the extensive range of teas, coffees and chocolate provided in our room, but most of all...their genuinely warm welcome and fabulous breakfasts. We call it our 'Oasis'. Superb! See you again soon.

Response

It was great to see you again and just a pity you couldn't have stayed longer to recharge your batteries.Thank you for taking the time in a busy schedule to write such a lovely review. We love looking after guests and we do appreciate your comments.We look forward to seeing you both again,Jenny & Nick

Reviewer:N | Wed 3rd Jan 2018 | 1 year ago


Book Online